Caciocavallo Silano Cheese

Fromage Caciocavallo Silano

Prix régulier $43.00 Prix réduit$42.00 Épargnez $1.00
/
Taxes incluses.

Taille

Frais d'expédition aux États-Unis

Nous avons deux types de produits à expédier. Articles simples et articles de soins spéciaux (alcool et charcuterie).

ARTICLES SIMPLES : Prix du colis Frais d'expédition $
0 - 99 $ 14 $
99,01 et plus $ Gratuit

ARTICLES DE SOINS SPÉCIAUX (alcool, charcuterie et gros articles)
Poids du colis Frais d'expédition $
0 - 1kg 16$
1,1 à 2 kg 19$
2,1 à 3 kg 21 $
3,1 - 3,99 kg 35 $
4 à 6,99 kg 45 $
7 kg et plus Gratuit


  • En stock
  • Inventaire sur le chemin

Le Caciocavallo Silano est l'un des fromages les plus célèbres du sud de l'Italie, en particulier du Sila, une vaste région montagneuse de Calabre, où il est produit. Ce fromage a des origines très anciennes, ce qui n'a cependant pas empêché les fabricants de conserver ses caractéristiques originales, permettant ainsi à Caciocavallo Silano d'obtenir la marque AOP.

HISTOIRE ET CURIOSITÉS
Le Caciocavallo Silano est considéré comme un fromage très important pour la gastronomie italienne. Sa production est si ancienne qu'elle a été mentionnée par Hippocrate, médecin et philosophe grec, qui vécut entre 460 et 370 avant JC. dans l'un de ses nombreux livres consacrés à l'art et à la cuisine, il parle pour la première fois du "cacio".
Ce fromage était habilement produit par les Grecs et les Romains, ce qui est devenu important pour cette raison. Après Hippocrate, Pline également - dans un de ses traités consacrés au fromage - a décrit et exalté les caractéristiques uniques du "butirro", ancêtre du caciocavallo moderne, le définissant comme "un aliment très délicat".
Par la suite, ce fromage a réussi à conserver intactes ses caractéristiques originales, devenant ainsi l'aliment idéal pour les anciens agriculteurs du sud de l'Italie. Grâce à l'extrême respect de la recette traditionnelle et des méthodes de production, Caciocavallo Silano a réussi à obtenir la marque AOP depuis 1996.
Le nom "caciocavallo" est lié au fait que les formes de fromage étaient liées en couple, suspendues à cheval sur des poutres en bois, prêtes pour le processus d'affinage. La deuxième partie du nom, "Silano", dérive - et on peut facilement le deviner - de son lieu d'origine et de production.

GOÛT ET CARACTÉRISTIQUES
La caractéristique la plus particulière du Caciocavallo Silano est sa forme, avec un corps ovale et une petite boule sur le dessus. En réalité, la présence de la petite boule n'est pas nécessaire, mais elle représente certainement l'une des caractéristiques les plus immédiates de Caciocavallo. Les deux parties sont séparées par un col marqué, dû aux cordons utilisés pour lier les couples ensemble.
La croûte est lisse, fine, jaune pâle et elle devient plus intense au cours de l'assaisonnement. À l'intérieur, le Caciocavallo Silano présente des caractéristiques différentes selon la période de maturation. Après quelques semaines, le fromage à pâte dure prend un aspect plus intense, les trous typiques apparaissent et le goût devient plus épicé.

Customer Reviews

Based on 31 reviews
94%
(29)
6%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
M
Michael DiGregorio
Caciocavallo Silano

This is a delicious cheese pares great with a red wine . Great for a snacking cheese also goes great with pears and grapes also fantastic with Italian olives . Highly recommend definitely going to be ordering more in the future !

A
Aaron

Cheese arrived well packed and on time. Caviocavallo is a gift from God…so good.

R
Rosaria Velella

Delivery was great. The delivery person very accommodating

s
sandy Radzinski
CACIOCAVALLO SILANO CHEESE

LOVE IT

J
James Clayton
Caciocavallo Silano

Great firm cheese with a smooth chewy texture. Delicious and worth purchasing!


Vu récemment

Centrée sur le client

Nous accordons une grande attention au client, nous vous écoutons et nous vous proposons le meilleur produit possible, nous sommes toujours disponibles au mail customersupport@dolceterra.com

LIVRAISON INTERNATIONALE

Où que vous soyez, nous pouvons vous expédier votre commande grâce à un réseau d'entrepôts et de coursiers qualifiés qui nous aident et nous accompagnent.

REMBOURSEMENT ET REMPLACEMENT

quelque chose s'est mal passé ? Eh bien, chaque fois que cela peut arriver, mais ne vous inquiétez pas, écrivez-nous et nous serons heureux de vous aider en vous proposant toujours un remboursement, un remplacement ou un bon d'achat.

ÉMU PAR PASSION

ENTREPRISE FAMILIALE

DEPUIS 2001

Caciocavallo Silano Cheese

Caciocavallo Silano Cheese

Regular price $43.00 Sale price$42.00 Save $1.00
/
Tax included.

Size

Shipping Cost USA

We have two types of products for shipping. Simple Items and Special Care Items (Alcohol and Cured Meats). 

SIMPLE ITEMS USA UE CANADA AUSTRALIA

Price of parcel 

Shipping Cost $

Shipping Cost $

Shipping Cost CAD$

Shipping Cost $

0-24,99 $ 21,90 $ 14,90 $ 24,90$ 30$
25-68,99$  16,90 $ 14,90 $ 24,90$ 30$
69-109 $ 14,90 $ 14,90 $ 21,90$ 30$
109,01 and up $ Free Free Free Free

 

SPECIAL CARE ITEMS (Alcohol, Cured Meats and Large Items) USA UK
Weight of parcel   Shipping Cost $ Shipping Cost £
0 - 2 kg 19$ 19£
2.1 - 3 kg 21 $ 21£
3.1 - 4 kg 35 $ 35£
4.1 - 8 kg 45 $ 45£
8.1 kg and up Free Free
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way

Caciocavallo Silano is on of the most famous cheeses of Southern Italy, in particular of the Sila, a wide Mountain land in Calabria, where it is produced. This cheese has very ancient origins, that, however, did not prevent manufacturers to preserve its original characteristics, allowing Caciocavallo Silano to obtain the PDO mark. 

HISTORY AND CURIOSITIES
Caciocavallo Silano is considered a very important cheese for the Italian gastronomy. Its production is so old as to be mentioned by Hippocrates, a Greek physician and philosopher, who lived between 460 and 370 BC. in one of his many books dedicated to the art and the cooking of foods, he speaks for the first time about "cacio".
This cheese were ably produced by Greeks and Romans, that became important for this fact. After Hippocrates, also Pliny - in one of his treatises dedicated to cheese - described and exalted the unique features of "butirro", an ancestor of the modern caciocavallo, defining it "very delicate food".
Afterward this cheese has managed to preserve unchanged its original features, becoming the ideal food for the ancient farmers of Southern Italy. Thanks to the extreme respect of the traditional recipe and production methods, Caciocavallo Silano has managed to gain the PDO mark since 1996.
The name "caciocavallo" is related to the fact that cheese forms were bounded in a couple, hanging them straddled across wooden beams, ready for the maturing process. The second part of the name, "Silano", derives - ad we can easily guess - from its place of origin and production.

TASTE AND CHARACTERISTICS
The most particular characteristic of Caciocavallo Silano is its shape, with an oval body and a small ball on top. Actually, the presence of the small ball is not necessary, but it represents certainly one of the most immediate features of Caciocavallo. The two parts are divided by a marked neck, due to the cords used to bind the couples togheter.
The rind is smooth, thin, pale yellow and it becomes more intense during the seasoning. Inside, Caciocavallo Silano has different characteristics, depending on the maturation period. After some weeks, the hard cheese assumes a more intense, the typical holes appear and the taste becomes more spicy.

Customer Reviews

Based on 31 reviews
94%
(29)
6%
(2)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
M
Michael DiGregorio
Caciocavallo Silano

This is a delicious cheese pares great with a red wine . Great for a snacking cheese also goes great with pears and grapes also fantastic with Italian olives . Highly recommend definitely going to be ordering more in the future !

A
Aaron

Cheese arrived well packed and on time. Caviocavallo is a gift from God…so good.

R
Rosaria Velella

Delivery was great. The delivery person very accommodating

s
sandy Radzinski
CACIOCAVALLO SILANO CHEESE

LOVE IT

J
James Clayton
Caciocavallo Silano

Great firm cheese with a smooth chewy texture. Delicious and worth purchasing!


Recently viewed

Customer Centric

We pay great attention to the customer, we listen to you and we suggest the best possible product, we are always available to the mail customersupport@dolceterra.com

WORLDWIDE SHIPPING

No matter where you are, we can send you your order thanks to a network of warehouses and skilled couriers who help us and support

REFUND AND REPLACEMENT

something went wrong? Well whenever it can happen but do not worry, write us and we will be happy to help you by always offering a refund, a replacement or a voucher

MOVED BY PASSION

FAMILY OWNED BUSINESS

SINCE 2001